University President

Robert D. Koob

            Robert Koob Robert D. Koob, the eighth president of UNI, began his service at the university in the fall of 1995. He succeeded Constantine William Curris. Koob had been senior vice president and vice president for academic affairs at California Polytechnic State University at San Luis Obispo, California, since 1990. President Koob was born in 1941 in Graettinger, Iowa. He graduated from the State College of Iowa (UNI) in 1962 with a B. A. in chemistry. After receiving his B. A., President Koob was a high school mathematics and science teacher in Moville, Iowa.

James William Maucker

          James Maucker James William Maucker was UNI's fifth president; he served from 1950 through 1970.  He succeeded Malcolm Poyer Price. Maucker was born in Rock Island, Illinois, in 1912.  He graduated magna cum laude in 1933 from Augustana College in Rock Island with a degree in chemistry.  After working for a few months, he enrolled in graduate school at the University of Iowa, where he earned his M. A in education in 1936, and his Ph. D. in educational tests and measurements in 1940.  He was an elementary and high school teacher in Omaha, Nebraska, from 1935 through 1937.

Orval Ray Latham

Orval Ray Latham was UNI's third president; he administered the college from 1928 through 1940. Latham's predecessor was Homer Horatio Seerley. President Latham was born in 1890 in Boone, Iowa. He earned three academic degrees, all from the University of Iowa. First, in 1911 he received his bachelor's degree. Then in 1919 he was awarded a Master of Arts degree, and in 1928 he received a Doctor of Philosophy in Educational Administration. He served as superintendent of schools for four Iowa school districts from 1911 through 1922.

John J. Kamerick

John J. Kamerick was UNI's sixth president. He served at UNI from 1970 through 1983. He succeeded James William Maucker. The Kamerick Art Building, erected in 1985, was named in honor of President Kamerick.

James Cleland Gilchrist

James Cleland Gilchrist was UNI's first chief administrator. His title was principal rather than president. Gilchrist was born in 1831 in Pennsylvania, but grew up on a farm in Ohio.  His educational background included studies at Antioch College under the famous educator Horace Mann, and an honorary M. A.

Constantine William Curris

Constantine William (Deno) Curris was the seventh president of UNI. He succeeded John J. Kamerick. Curris administered the school from 1983 through 1995. Curris was born in 1940 in Lexington, Kentucky. He graduated from the University of Kentucky magna cum laude in 1962 with a degree in political science. In 1965 he received an M.A. degree in political science from the University of Illinois, and in 1967 an Ed.D. degree in higher education from the University of Kentucky.