Charles O. Todd

Education Faculty

  Charles O. Todd of T. C. Faculty Taken by Death Came to Cedar Falls in 1922; Leaves Widow and Two Children. Charles O. Todd, 68, associate professor at Iowa State Teachers College, in the education department, died, early Sunday morning at Sartori Hospital following a major operation performed Saturday afternoon.  Charles Otto Todd was born in a log cabin at Anderson, Indiana, January 7, 1873, and grew to young manhood in that vicinity.  On August 29, 1916, he married Charlotte Faulkner at her home in Paoli, Indiana.  To this union were born two children, Charles, 19, a student at Iowa State Teachers College, and Jeanne, 16, senior student at the Teachers College High School. Former Superintendent Mr. Todd came to Iowa Slate Teachers College in 1922.  He had previously taught in the rural schools of Madison County, Indiana, from 1894 to 1904, and served as superintendent of schools at Frankton, Indiana, from 1905 to 1910, at Paoli, Indiana, from 1911 to 1915, and at Chester, Illinois, from 1916 to 1922.  He received his secondary school education in Terre Haute, Indiana, his B. A. degree from the University of Indiana; and his M. A. degree from the University of Chicago in 1916. Member of N. E. A. Professor Todd was a member of Phi Delta Kappa, national honorary education fraternity, the National Education Association; the Iowa State Teachers Association, the Masonic Lodge, and was affiliated with the Interdenominational Church. Surviving, in addition to the widow and two children, are seven brothers, Oman of Max, Nebraska, Lowell of Wilmette, Illinois, Hubert of Joliet, Illinois, Rolland of Washington, D. C., and J. Orville, Elgin and Herman, all of Anderson, Indiana. There are two sisters, Lena Todd Sigler and Lula Todd Shoemaker, both of Anderson. Funeral Tuesday Funeral services will be held at 2 p. m. Tuesday from Dahl's funeral home.  Dr. Gerald E. Knoff, director of religious activities at Iowa State Teachers College, will officiate.  Burial will be in Fairview Cemetery. Friends may view the body until 1 p. m, Tuesday.  The casket will not be opened at the services. Honorary pallbearers are to be Dr. Malcolm Price, L. I. Reed, J. B. Paul, Hugh Buffum, John Slacks, G. W. Walters, E. W. Goetch, Frank Hill,. Winfield Scott, C. L. Jackson, and J. H. Peet. Active pallbearers are Dr. M. J. Nelson, Dr. E. C. Denny, Dr. A. E; Brown, Dr. H. A. Riebe. Dr. M. J. Wilcox, and Dr. J. W. Charles. Copyright Waterloo Courier, May 26, 1941.